My my My my

Welcome to WIHLMA's website!


The Women’s Interscholastic Hockey League of the Mid-Atlantic, founded in 2005, is comprised of nine high school hockey teams competing each winter season, from November to February. The league includes four teams from New Jersey, two teams from Pennsylvania, one team from Maryland, and two teams from New York. Several schools rotate to host the league championships over Presidents’ Day weekend in February.
The purpose of this organization is to provide female students at the member schools a quality athletic experience in the sport of ice hockey through structured league play on an interstate basis; to provide for recognition of school and team accomplishments; and to promote sportsmanship, good will, and healthy rivalries among member schools and their athletes.
If your school is interested in joining WIHLMA, please contact the league's Secretary,
League Changes for 2016-17



WIHLMA is pleased to welcome Rye Country Day School (Rye, NY), Mater Dei Prep (Middletown, NJ), and Immaculate Heart Academy (Washington Township, NJ) to the league. With the new additions, WIHLMA expands from eight to eleven teams for the 2016-17 season.

With this expansion, the WIHLMA members approved restructuring the league into two divisions. Both divisions will compete in the WIHLMA championship weekend over Presidents' Day weekend in February, with a winner crowned for each division.

The top six teams from the 2015-16 final standings will compete in the Hengerer Division for the WIHLMA Championship in 2016-17. Those schools are: Shady Side Academy, The Hill School, Princeton Day School, Morristown-Beard School, Portledge School, and Holton-Arms School.

The remaining two teams from the 2015-16 standings will compete in the Miran Division in 2016-17. Those schools are: Princeton High School and Pingry School. The three new schools (Rye Country Day School, Mater Dei Prep, and Immaculate Heart Academy) will also compete in the Miran Division.

The expansion and restructure for the upcoming season is an exciting step in continuing to grow and improve as a league to give our student-athletes the best high school hockey experience possible. This divisional format will enhance the level of competition while maintaining the camaraderie among the WIHLMA member schools that has been inherent in the league since it was founded in 2005.

The division names were given to honor Ned Hengerer (former coach at Holton-Arms School) and Karl Miran (former AD at The Hill School), both of whom were involved in founding WIHLMA and dedicated their time and effort to the league for many years.


With a continued focus on sportsmanship and in the spirit of competitiveness, the league will evaluate its divisions and place schools accordingly prior to each season.

We are currently accepting applications for new members for the 2017-18 season. If you are an AD or coach at a school in the Mid-Atlantic area and are interested in joining WIHLMA, please contact the league secretary, Joanne Dzama ( ), for more information.

posted 04/11/2016
Alumnae Honors for 2015-16 Season



Congratulations to a few former WIHLMA players, now teammates at Middlebury College, on winning the 2016 New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) championship. Allie Aiello '13 (Morristown-Beard), Haley LaFontaine '14 (Pingry) and Elizabeth Wulf '14 (Rye Country Day) contributed to the Panthers success this season. With the conference title, the Panthers earned an automatic bid to the NCAA Division III tournament.



Congratulations to Kathleen McNamara '15 (Morristown-Beard) on winning the 2016 Hockey East conference championship with Boston College. With the conference title, the Eagles earned an automatic bid to the NCAA Division I tournament.



Katherine Chester '13 (Morristown-Beard) earned First Team All-NESCAC honors from the New England Small College Athletic Conference for her outstanding play in net for Connecticut College this season. MORE



For the third time this season, Kendall Cornine '15 (Morristown-Beard) was named College Hockey America (CHA) Rookie of the Week. Cornine earned the honors for the week ending Jan. 10, 2016. MORE



Katherine Chester '13 (Morristown-Beard) was named New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) Player of the Week for the week ending Jan. 10, 2016. Connecticut College's junior netminder earned back-to-back wins over rival Trinity College, with 34 saves in a 4-2 victory on Friday and 37 saves for the 2-0 shutout on Saturday. MORE



Check out the Daily Record article on Kathleen McNamara '15 (Morristown-Beard) earning a roster spot with the #1 nationally-ranked Boston College Eagles this season. MORE



Kendall Cornine '15 (Morristown-Beard) was named College Hockey America (CHA) Rookie of the Week for the second time in October, for the week ending Oct. 25, 2015. Cornine scored her first collegiate goal with the game-winner on Friday and picked up a shorthanded goal on Saturday to lead RIT in back-to-back wins over Union. MORE



Kendall Cornine '15 (Morristown-Beard) was named College Hockey America (CHA) Rookie of the Week for the week ending Oct. 4, 2015. The RIT freshman had two helpers in the Tigers' opening weekend, including an assist on the game-winner vs Minnesota State. MORE

posted 03/06/2016
2016 WIHLMA Championship Weekend Recap



Congratulations to Shady Side Academy on repeating as WIHLMA Champions!

SSA finished the season undefeated and captured its second league title with a 1-0 win over The Hill School.


Here are the Final Standings for the 2015-2016 season:

1. Shady Side Academy

2. The Hill School

3. Princeton Day School

4. Morristown-Beard School

5. Portledge School

6. Holton-Arms School

7. Princeton High School

8. Pingry School



At the WIHLMA playoff weekend, the league held its first Skills Competition. Thank you to everyone who helped support this fun event, and special thanks to all the participants for making it so successful!

Congratulations to the winners!

Fastest Skater: MK Gialames (SSA)

Most Accurate Shot: Alayna Trice (SSA)

Most Breakaway Goals: Kristi Serafin (PDS)

Most Breakaway Saves: Gwyn Philips (SSA)

Fastest Team Relay: Ava Salerno (Portledge), Katie Sciales (Hill), Brooke Hubert (Portledge), Julie David (PDS), Ally Detre (MBS), Chayla Edwards (SSA)


All the participants are learning the order of events for the inaugural WIHLMA Skills Competition<br>(photo credit: Giselle)<br>Skaters pick the order for the Breakaway Challenge<br>(photo credit: Giselle)<br><br>The winners of the Breakaway Challenge event face each other<br>(photo credit: Giselle)One of the relay teams gets ready for the finale event<br>(photo credit: Giselle)<br>The winning relay team gets ready for the finale event<br>(photo credit: Giselle)

posted 02/14/2016
Recent Results
Upcoming Games